ways to keep warm during winter
Fashion, Food

Keeping warm, going green

January and February are the coldest in this mountain City. Indeed, the dip in temperature from the strangely warm holiday season has us reaching for coats and sweaters already nicely-stored for next season. And since green is the color for 2017, says Pantone, we absolutely therefore have to get the trend into our closets. I’m not sure what shade of green it is this time but I remember that in 2013 it was emerald green. Was green anywhere at the Golden Globes? Because I saw mostly peach. Perhaps that’s a transitional color from last year? Isn’t Hollywood – or is it officially Hollyweed now? – buying into the commercialization of color anymore? Ha! Happy that The Night Manager made major wins though. Yey! And Meryl Streep’s speech…she is one of the last ones standing from that golden age of cinema.

But, where were we? My Achilles heel in winter time are my neck and upper back. But in place of a sweater, considering I loathe doing laundry, anything that covers those areas, a scarf or high-necked vest does the job. At the November holiday sale in Glorietta, I spotted a chic neckscarf styled on a mannequin and knew at once I had to have it. On closer inspection, I learned there’s a wire running through it which can be easily flexed into any style the user fancies without the difficulties of traditional knotting and tying. Absolutely-brilliant contraption for the lazy girl! And did I know the style debuted at Emporio Armani? Should I still mention I loaded up on more than a few of those?

Soup in a manner of speaking is also perfect cover-up for my neck and back. After new year’s day, while organizing stuff, I came to an unopened packet of dried seaweed I had earlier bought at my fave Korean mart. I checked the expiry date- still good! I had meant to do a tofu-miso-seaweed soup combo but haven’t gotten around to it. Well, what better day than the new year? So I did. I even managed not to screw up the recipe! But this is why some dishes are only truly available at home. I couldn’t just say, tofu-miso-seaweed soup please! without first checking if the place has it, could I?

 

Warm is music too. I awoke recently to familiar country songs playing in the house: Johnny Cash’ I Walk The Line

I keep a close watch on this heart of mine

I keep my eyes wide open all the time

I keep the ends out for the tie that binds

Because you’re mine, I walk the line.

Lynn Anderson’s (I Never Promised You A) Rose Garden followed

I beg your pardon I never promised you a rose garden

Along with the sunshine there’s gotta be a little rain sometime

When you take you gotta give so live and let live and let go oh oh oh oh

I beg your pardon I never promised you a rose garden.

And finally Kenny Rogers’ Coward Of The County

I promised you, Dad

Not to do the things you’ve done

I walk away from trouble when I can

Now please don’t think I’m weak

I didn’t turn the other cheek

Papa, I should hope you understand

Sometimes you gotta fight

When you’re a man.

I’ve listened to these plenty of times before but that morning each held new meaning for me.

Leave a Reply

