Travel

Postcards from around the Philippines: Irosin hot springs

San Benon/Mateo Hot & Cold Volcanic Springs Resort, Irosin, Sorsogon
The resort in Irosin where we were billeted has only a cold spring pool so we went to the nearby resort, a 15-minute walk through a coconut plantation, that has a hot pool. The water is naturally heated by Mount Bulusan. There, I stayed in the part of the pool where it was hottest. It seemed I was the only one there who has high tolerance for hot water because nobody came to my side of the pool (which was a happy thing for me). I don’t believe in the supposedly healing powers of volcanic springs but I noticed that since then I was able to sweat during normal physical exertion (before, I only sweat after extraordinary exertion) although I’m not sure whether if the change has anything to do with my having been in volcanic water.
Leave a Reply

