On nurturing children’s imagination

All children are artists. Their drawings tell us what’s most important to them, what they believe in – blue unicorns for example – and generally how they perceive their environment.

Once, my youngest daughter, taking a pause from drawing, asked if I’ve ever seen a blue bear. For a second, I thought shit what should I say? My actual reply: Yes, you can imagine it in whatever color you like. I’d like mine green. She appeared to think about it, then drew a blue and green bear. 

Leave a Reply

