This fan’s reaction to Lionel Messi retiring

Lionel Messi Copa America 2016

Lionel Messi announced his retirement from international duty after missing in a penalty shootout as Argentina lost a fourth major final in nine years.

“It’s not meant for me. For me the national team is over. I’ve done all I can, it hurts not to be a champion,” the 29-year-old said after defeat by Chile at the Copa America.

I can’t believe it! I am stunned! I want to go out there and say, No! But of course I can’t. So I’m feeling just as shitty as the word unexpected retirement.

Argentina and Manchester United goalkeeper Sergio Romero said he hoped Messi would “reflect” on his decision and reconsider, adding: “I think he spoke while he was heated, because a beautiful opportunity escaped us. I can’t imagine a national team without Messi.”

I can’t too.

Leave a Reply

