People

The C word again

grace quote

February is supposedly my month. But, maybe it’s that there’s one more day to it this year, one more day for surprises that is, because since the beginning of the month, news seemed to come in by leaps. I’ve been awakened early dawn only a few days apart to the news that two persons I knew have died. One, a former boss (just briefly, for me) and the other, a former colleague. Cancer, both. The C word (again) at 4 AM is definitely a wake-upper. The only information close to humorous there is the reply I got when I asked former colleagues if our former boss’ had spoken any last words to them. “Don’t drink and smoke,” appeared on my phone screen.

Leave a Reply

