Movies: Elvis and me

To wind down after an eventful and very hectic work day schedule, I watched the rerun of Elvis and Me.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:center;”>

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:center;”>

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

Up until I read the book which was just very recently, what I knew of Elvis was basically what most knew:  King of Rock n’ Roll, moves on stage that today’s generation refer to as twerkin’ , a beautiful wife, Priscilla, and father of Lisa Marie.  And thanks to my father I’ve listened to most of his songs including his Gospel songs.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

But I also wanted to know more about Elvis off stage– who was Elvis in love?  After reading the book, I fell in love with his’ and Priscilla’s love story.  I thought they both loved each other only that their relationship had challenges different to what most couples have, and in the absence of honest, open, and daily communication their paths eventually diverged.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

On top of that, there’s Elvis the artist.  Much has been written about artists’ complex make-up that “ordinary people” find hard to understand and put up with for long.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

In the interview for Ladies Home Journal, Priscilla expounds on the break up

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

I think that there can be a very good relationship between two people that marriage can ruin.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

In marriage, you can easily take each other for granted. You begin to feel obligated. I see it happening to my friends – every one is divorced – and I saw it happen to me. It’s a slow gradual change.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

Whatever it is that marriage does, it changes you. It may be the obligation; it may be the responsibility. People become less sensitive to each other’s needs. They do something because they have to, not because they want to. So I would rather be the girlfriend than the wife.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

For some reason ‘wife’ is a bad word to me. So much is expected of you. It’s a role, and if something doesn’t turn out, it’s your fault.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:left;”>

But I don’t feel resentful or regretful. It was an experience. Today, I feel I am a better person than I was ten years ago because I know a lot more, I’ve learned a lot.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu” style=”text-align:center;”>

I think Elvis desired the best for his marriage and along the way learned a lot too.  Only that, as what Priscilla observed of Elvis’ life trajectory which she mentioned in the same Ladies Home Journal interview

I saw how Elvis had to be.  I mean, so publicized.  I could live my life and do what I wanted, but it was not possible for Elvis to do this.

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu”>

In the final analysis I think the one person who could truly help or make you happy or satisfied is yourself.  Or, at least, to be able to love the other, love has to start with the self.  I think that’s what Priscilla came to be aware of, growing up.  I think, Elvis, older than her and much more experienced knew this already but also feared it becoming in Priscilla because when somebody you love finally realizes her own path and decides to pursue it away from you, what do you do?

<

p class=”ytp-copytext ytp-no-contextmenu”>

Leave a Reply

