Real treasures

One by one He took them from me

All the things I valued most

Until I was empty handed;

Every glittering toy was lost.

And I walked earth’s highways

grieving

In my rags of poverty.

Till I heard His voice inviting

“Lift your empty hands to Me!”

So I held my hands toward heaven

And He filled them with a store

Of His own transcendent riches

Till my hands could hold no more.

And at last I comprehended

With my stupid mind and dull

That God could not pour His riches

Into hands already full.

РF. J. Wiens (quoted in Gaining Through Losing, Christenson, Evelyn)

Leave a Reply

